10 Moisturizers I’ve Used (And Which Ones You Should Try This Winter)

With cold weather upon us, keeping your skin moisturized and hydrated can be a constant challenge. A year ago, I talked briefly about moisturizers and cleansers, but I wanted to spend some time talking about facial moisturizers specifically. I’ve been experimenting with a lot of different brands recently and have finally found some that I’m truly loving!

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel, $17.99, target.com

As a teenager, I was never really on-board with using a daily sunscreen in my beauty routine. I’m not sure if it was because I could never find a formula I liked or because they always seemed greasy or because I was just lazy. Now, however, I am all about this Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel. It smells great, dries quickly, and doesn’t leave my skin feeling greasy or oily. I use this every single day and I love it.

Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief, $39.00, sephora.com

I have always been a fan of Clinique’s skincare line, but their Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief is a great option for all skin types. My skin is normal/oily, so finding enough hydration without clogging up my pores is vital. I love the lightweight feel of this cream-gel. It’s soothing and refreshing without weighing down your skin. It also dries quickly, which is ideal for bedtime use!

Garnier Skinactive Clearly Brighter Moisturizer With SPF, $14.99, target.com

Looking for another daily SPF option, I decided to give this new Garnier formula a try. To me, this product is too much like a sunscreen and not enough like a moisturizer. It does dry completely and doesn’t leave a residue, which is nice. This product is a little heavier, though, and I am not a fan of the scent.

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion, $26.00, sephora.com

The crown jewel of Clinique’s skincare line, Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion is a lightweight lotion ideal for dry skin types. In general, this lotion is too heavy for my skin and it can cause breakouts after extended use. However, I do use it on varying occasions when my skin needs a serious moisture pick-me-up, which happens a lot during the winter months.

Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturizer, $4.99, target.com

This is my go-to moisturizer after I wash my face or a take a shower. I’ve been using this for years and recommend it highly. It’s very moisturizing and, during my teenage years especially, I noticed it truly did combat acne. Target’s Up and Up brand used to have their own version (which was equally as fantastic), but I am no longer seeing it on their website.

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, $26.00, sephora.com

Unlike the Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion, the Gel variation is much more suited to oily and combination skin. It is a lightweight cream-gel that absorbs quickly and doesn’t leave a residue behind. It’s extremely moisturizing and I personally prefer this formula over the lotion.

No7 Beautiful Skin Night Cream for Normal/Oily Skin, $11.39, target.com

This was a surprise find for me a few weeks ago. I picked it up on a whim at Target and absolutely fell in love. I use this every night and it has been amazing so far! It smells great and dries quickly, which is perfect for a night cream. It’s very moisturizing without being greasy or heavy. If your skin is not normal/oily, they make the same product for various skin types. Protect & Perfect, Normal/Dry, Restore & Renew, Lift & Luminate, Dry/Very Dry, and Early Defense are just a few of the different formulas available.

Tarte Maracuja Oil, $48.00, sephora.com

I have used this product sparingly–for extreme circumstances. It’s is way too oily to be used every single day (at least for my skin type), but it is a great moisture boost when necessary. To me, it’s a heavy formula that leaves a greasy residue, but I think most facial oils are like that.

Pond’s Dry Skin Cream, $4.99, target.com

Well, during one particularly dry winter, I made the mistake of thinking that my skin needed this. While it was nourishing and hydrating, I could only use it sparingly. It was too heavy for me. I also did not like the residue that it left behind; it felt greasy and weighed me down.

Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion, $9.99, target.com

A cult classic, Cetaphil is a great moisturizer. It’s one of the few “heavyweight” moisturizers I can use without negative consequences to my skin. I don’t buy Cetaphil very often, but when I do, I am always surprised by how well it works for my skin. Not my favorite product on the market overall, but I do recommend it to those who need a serious amount of hydration.

One thought on “10 Moisturizers I’ve Used (And Which Ones You Should Try This Winter)

Leave a Reply

