Beauty Test Drive: John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Visibly Brighter Collection

20160322_150748-1

I’ve been wanting to try the John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Visibly Brighter hair care collection for a long time now. There are three pieces in this collection:

  • In-Shower Lightening Treatment ($8.99 at Target, $9.99 at Ulta)
  • Subtle Lightening Shampoo ($8.99 at Target, $9.99 at Ulta)
  • Subtle Lightening Conditioner ($8.99 at Target, $9.99 at Ulta)

20160322_150727-1

The In-Shower Lightening Treatment is recommended to be used no more than once per month. I used it and was instantly caught off-guard by the Hydrogen Peroxide smell. I wasn’t expecting such “strong” chemicals in an at-home hair color treatment. However, this was promising to me, as I hoped the results would be more prominent than I was originally expecting!

PhotoGrid_1459138906012

The lighting in my bathroom is less than ideal, but the picture on the left is the before treatment picture. The right hand side is what my hair looked like immediately after using the In-Shower Lightening Treatment. A visible difference–yes? I was pleasantly surprised by the result. Even though it was very “subtle” (as the product promises!), I did notice a difference.

20160322_150803-1

I also used the shampoo and conditioner immediately after the lightening treatment–and I’m still using the shampoo and conditioner daily in my shower.

PhotoGrid_1459139209101

My original hair color is on the left, the after-shower color on the right. My hair does look lighter, but it also picked up a warmer tone. I thought it was just the lighting in my bathroom, but even several days later–in varying forms of natural and unnatural light–my hair color retained the new reddish tone.

PhotoGrid_1459138948709

Thoughts overall? The In-Shower Lightening Treatment was surprisingly effective. I would definitely try it again. It’s very quick and efficient, although the results were very subtle. I was probably the only person to notice an actual difference in color.

The Subtle Lightening Shampoo is my least favorite product in this collection. While the purpose of the shampoo is to provide more color variation and depth to my hair, I don’t like the way it cleans. My hair still feels dirty when I get out of the shower–or at least not as clean as I would like it.

20160322_150841-1

The Subtle Lightening Conditioner is a welcome addition to my shower routine. I like how my hair feels after showering–smooth, but not weighed down by oily product (especially important with my straight and thin hair!). Again, though, I feel like the conditioner leaves something to be desired in terms of moisturizing my strands.

20160322_150808-1

For someone looking to minutely change their hair color, I would recommend these products. Next on my list? Trying the Visibly Deeper collection! The Color Deepening Treatment, Visibly Deeper Shampoo, and Visibly Deeper Conditioner are all available at Target.

3 thoughts on “Beauty Test Drive: John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Visibly Brighter Collection

  1. I wonder if the warm tone came from the shampoo, the conditioner or the in-shower treatment? The in-shower treatment is basically like a very mild hair semi permanent dye because it does contain hydrogen peroxide.

    How long did you leave in the in-shower treatment for? Your results after the first treatment are very nice.

    Like

    1. I followed the directions exactly, but it was a while ago so I don’t remember how long exactly! I feel like the in-shower treatment is what caused the warm tone. It did feel like a lot of product for my thin hair, so I don’t know if this helped to create more prominent results. Either way, the in-shower treatment was my favorite part, followed by the conditioner. I did not like the shampoo as I continued to use it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

