Every Pinterest Recipe I Tried In The Month Of November

Let’s see how long this whole “making dinner” thing lasts.

blogs.babycenter.com

For those of you who are interested, I kicked off this series with this post, so if you’re interested, go take a look.

Last month, I was ambitious enough to cook nine different recipes. NINE.

This month I matched the nine recipes. Of course, this is mostly in part to Thanksgiving. Anyway, here is what I made this month!

1. Sausage and Pepper Pasta [x]

butterwithasideofbread.com

Alright, so I didn’t make this pasta so much as I used it as a template for a pasta my mom makes. Here is my version:

  • 1 box of pasta
  • 1lb turkey sausage (I used Jeannie-O Sweet Italian–remove casings and crumble into pan!)
  • 3oz fresh spinach (I used way more because I love spinach)
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can chicken broth
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Parmesan cheese for topping

If you paid any attention to the original recipe, I omitted the red peppers and then added onion and garlic. I was a big fan of how this turned out.

PROS: I loved this dish. It’s a nice alternative to pasta dishes with a bunch of heavy sauces.

CONS: Not super flavorful. It’s pretty mellow. If you like a little spice in your life, this is probably not the dish for you.

2. Six-Ingredient Supper: Chicken Pesto Pasta [x]

blogs.babycenter.com

I love my simple suppers.

PROS: Very easy to make. The ingredients are simple and you probably already have some of them on hand.

CONS: Since the arugula in this pasta is not wilted (like the spinach in the recipe above), it does not keep very well. After a day or two, the greens start to get soggy and gross.

3. Turkey Taco Lettuce Wraps [x]

cookingclassy.com

There’s not many meals easier to make than tacos. This one has the added “health” benefits of not including tortillas. The lettuce wraps make it a light, fresh meal.

PROS: Easy, quick, and delicious. I will never object to a good taco meal. I also liked the fact that it was lighter than regular tacos and made me feel slightly better about my eating habits.

CONS: It tasted just like tacos. Nothing too special here.

4. Easy, No Fail Turkey Meatloaf [x]

boysahoy.com

Do me a favor. Take a second and read the title of that recipe. Just absorb it all in.

Easy. No fail.

Well, let me tell you. I have tried a good amount of recipes on Pinterest now (okay, not very many, but a decent amount) and this is my first flat-out fail. This did not turn out. In fact, we couldn’t even eat it for dinner.

Be prepared for my nasty results, seen strewn on the trashcan below.

20151022_231050

PROS: Literally NONE.

CONS: Okay, where to begin. First of all, there was so much liquid in this recipe. It came out looking like wet cat food from a can. Apparently you’re supposed to drain meatloaf throughout the process, but I didn’t know this. I also didn’t know it was going to overflow, so then it leaked all over my oven and I had to clean it up (which makes me hate this recipe even more). Last, but certainly not least, it was turkey, so I could hardly even tell when it was cooked. It was a weird, gross, gray color.

Anyway, I’d avoid that one (or at least do a better job of cooking it than I did).

5. Honey Maple Roasted Carrots [x]

damndelicious.net

On the opposite end of the spectrum, these carrots were delicious. Since I can never follow a recipe exactly, I ended up using baby carrots I had on hand (instead of the recommended crinkle-cut frozen variety).

PROS: Simple, easy side dish. Very sweet and delicious. My boyfriend and I loved this.

CONS: Because of the honey and syrup in the mixture, clean up isn’t exactly a breeze. Also, be careful not to spill this on the table or the counter because, again, stickiness.

THE THANKSGIVING RECIPES

6. Oven Roasted Turkey Breast [x]

pocketchangegourmet.com

Since I can never just follow a recipe, I combined this turkey recipe with a different one. I used all the season recommendations for this turkey.

PROS: Great flavor.

CONS: Came out dry (but I cooked according to a different recipe and that may have just been an error on my part).

7. Oven Roasted Turkey Tenderloin [x]

heandsheeatclean.com

This is the recipe I used for cooking my turkey tenderloins. I used none of the tips when choosing seasoning for my turkey.

PROS: Very easy. All I had to do was pop in the oven. Again, great flavor, but that was probably because of the previous recipe.

CONS: Came out very dry. Could have probably cooked closer to 45 minutes than an hour, but that’s a learning curve for next time.

8. Candied Sweet Potatoes [x]

thehiddenpantry | Blogspot

PROS: Again, very easy. We had all the ingredients on hand except for the actual sweet potatoes (which we bought canned). The flavors in this were very sweet and good. We added marshmallows on top to complete the dish.

CONS: Did not reheat well. I made this the day before, followed reheating instructions (350 degrees for 15-20 minutes) and they were ice cold in the middle. Also, there was a lot of liquid in the dish (butter, I’m assuming?). They were already becoming mushy a day later.

9. Campbell’s Green Bean Casserole [x]

allrecipes.com

It wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without green bean casserole–at least for me. All of the ingredients in this sounded and looked disgusting during preparation, but this was honestly my favorite dish I made for Thanksgiving.

PROS: Classic recipe. Only requires a handful of ingredients.

CONS: None. This turned out exactly how I was hoping it would.

Until next month, happy eating!

6 thoughts on “Every Pinterest Recipe I Tried In The Month Of November

  1. You’re such a professional now! Definitely inspiring me to step up my cooking game! Also, I thought I would mention that for ‘make ahead’ meals (i.e, your sweet potatoe dish) – now that you know it doesn’t reheat well, you can always prep it the day before but wait to actually bake it until the day of, as long as you have oven space and time. Also using real sweet potatoes may help with some of the mushiness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

