Every Pinterest Recipe I Tried In The Month Of October

I’ve been feeling extra adventurous this month in my cooking. As a girl who doesn’t do a whole lot of cooking, Pinterest is my go-to for new and exciting recipes. Check out everything I made this month after the jump.

vintagekitchennotes.com

1. One Pot Andouille Sausage Skillet Pasta [x]

damndelicious.net

This is a fan favorite around these parts. Super easy and simple. There’s like 5 minutes of chopping involved. Everything cooks in the same pan (even the noodles!), so the clean-up isn’t too bad.

PROS: Delicious, one-pan, easy. Very little prep and cooking time. Very easy to modify and you probably already have most of the ingredients on hand!

CONS: Unfortunately, there is a good amount of cheese in this dish. The melted cheese can be a pain in the butt to scrub off of your plates–and off the pot.

2. Balsamic Roasted Baby Carrots [x]

cravingsofalunatic.com

A super easy and tasty side dish. I just buy a bag of baby carrots, toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, dried parsley, and balsamic vinegar. Pop them in the oven and you’re done!

PROS: Easy and delicious

CONS: The carrots don’t always come out as juicy as I’d like. I’m not sure what makes them come out a bit dry sometimes (perhaps less olive oil or vinegar?), but they’re not always the squishy and juicy side dish I’d like.

3. Rosemary Garlic Butter Steak [x]

vintagekitchennotes.com

I didn’t follow the exact recipe, since I didn’t have rosemary on hand, but I did follow the blog’s tips for pan-searing a steak in butter. It was absolutely delicious–and I didn’t even buy the fancy kind of steak! The buttery crust on the outside of the steak is phenomenal. This would be an impressive dish to serve during a dinner party.

PROS: Delicious and quick. This recipe is easy to modify. You can also use any cut of meat you like (although thinner cuts work better if you want them to cook evenly).

CONS: If you like thicker cuts of steak, its hard to get the inside portion to cook evenly in a pan. If you’re looking for a heart-healthy meal, this is probably not a great option.

4. Restaurant-Style Garlic Mashed Potatoes [x]

deliciousasitlooks.com

The sour cream and Parmesan are really the key to this entire recipe. A delicious side dish.

PROS: Amazingly delicious. I love leaving the skins on the potatoes, it adds more flavor.

CONS: None.

5. Slow Cooker Pot Roast with Potatoes [x]

cookingclassy.com

I did not use this exact recipe (it was in combination with the recipe below). I used this recipe mainly to determine how long chuck roast needed to cook in the slow cooker.

PROS: Delicious, melt-in-your-mouth meat. Great over those garlic mashed potatoes listed above!

CONS: Takes an entire day to cook, so make sure you plan your time accordingly!

6. Yummo Pork Roast [x]

pooreamy.com

This is more the pot roast recipe I followed, but I used beef instead of pork. I did add the garlic and the onion soup mix, which provided awesome flavor. I was worried the onion soup mix would make my roast super salty, but I was actually a huge fan of how it turned out.

PROS: Delicious and onion-y. The meat was so soft and delicious (cooking on LOW is the key!)

CONS: Another slow cooker meal, so you’ll need to plan out your time accordingly. Also, the smell produced while cooking will have you starving hours before dinner is ready to be served!

7. Ranch Chicken with Potatoes and Green Beans [x]

aneverydayblessing.com

All you have to do is throw everything together in a pan, sprinkle on some Ranch seasoning mix, drizzle on melted butter, and cook in the over for an hour! This is as easy as it gets!

PROS: So, so easy. Probably the easiest meal of the bunch. Flavorful and juicy chicken (probably one of the juciest chicken breasts I’ve managed to make).

CONS: Not a ton of flavor in the green beans or potatoes. I used a whole packet of Ranch seasoning and was hoping for a little more zest. Also, because everything is simmering in juices the whole time, the green beans and potatoes were sort of soggy–not my dream side dishes. I like crisp veggies and even crispier potatoes.

8. Southwestern Black Bean Salad [x]

skinnytaste.com

This is another easy after work meal. There is no meat or cooking of any sort involved. All you need to do is chop up your onion, avocado, and tomato. Dump your can of beans and can of corn into a bowl with some lime juice and you’re good to go. I served over tostada shells and it was delicious!

PROS: Light meal. Great for vegetarians (or meatless Mondays!). Easy prep and flexible depending on which veggies you like and don’t like.

CONS: Holy onion. I love onions, but I would advise not eating this for lunch at work. It’s super strong and onion-y!

9. White Chicken Chili [x]

designwinedine.com

Easy to throw together in the crock pot. I omitted the jalapeno and chilies because I don’t care for their flavor. I also accidentally bought creamed corn instead of whole kernel corn, which made the consistency a little mushy, but it was still good.

PROS: Very little prep and clean-up (always my favorite!)

CONS: Ended up being a little too salty for my taste. I’m wondering if this was because I omitted the jalapeno and chilies .

Leave a Reply

