My Daily Make-Up Bag

Here’s a glimpse into my daily make-up routine.

20151019_145949-1_resized

In general, these are the items I use to get ready every day. I put a few substitutions in this post, based on other products I sometimes use instead.

1. It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Silk HD Anti-Aging Micro-Powder, $24.00, ulta.com

ulta.com

This is hands down one of my favorite make-up products I have purchased. Ever since Urban Decay discontinued their loose powder a few years ago, I had been on the hunt for a new loose powder. Almost all finishing powders are pressed (I guess the loose formula isn’t popular?), but I finally found It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Silk HD Anti-Aging Micro-Powder. I’ve been using it for a few years now and it worked beautifully over liquid foundation. It really keeps your make-up in place all day (and also prevents your skin from looking oily!).

2. IT Brushes For Ulta Live Beauty Fully Flawless Powder Brush #202, $36.00, ulta.com

ulta.com

I was originally using an ELF Kabuki Brush to apply my powder, but this is what I transitioned to instead. I love how well this brush blends loose powder. It also is fluffy and soft–two great bonuses in a make-up brush! No shedding whatsoever and really easy to clean. I originally wanted this brush from It Cosmetics, but the cheaper price of the brush shown above is the main reason why I chose it.

3. NAKED2 Palette by Urban Decay, $54.00, ulta.com

20151019_150157_resized

I use this every single day. You can’t go wrong with any of the Urban Decay Palettes (as you’ll see in the second half of this post!), but this is one of my personal favorites. I use the double-ended brush included with the palette, but I also sometimes use…

4. ELF Studio Eyeshadow “C” Brush, $3.00, target.com

target.com

Let me start by saying that I love this brush. Besides, it’s only $3.00. If you need a new eyeshadow brush, I highly recommend giving this one a try.

5. Real Techniques Blush Brush, $8.99, ulta.com

realtechniques.com

I was using an ELF Powder Brush to apply blush (which worked out fairly well), but the angled shape of this Real Techniques Blush Brush is great. My blush is always perfectly blended and never looked sloppy or too harsh.

6. Clinique High Impact Mascara, $16.50, sephora.com

sephora.com

It’s amazing how one product can totally change-up your whole routine. I was a big believer that the price of the mascara didn’t make a different. I mean, who was going to pay that much attention to your eyelashes? Boy, was I wrong. After trying dozens of different mascaras, I have finally chosen Clinique’s High Impact Mascara as my favorite of all time. It’s thick and provides volume to your lashes without clumping.

7. NARS Blush (in Amour), $30.00, sephora.com

sephora.com

I was afraid of using a strong-colored blush for a long time, opting instead for almost sheer tones. NARS Blush is the first pronounced blush I’ve used that I’ve fallen in love with. I wear the color Amour on most days, but I am looking to get Orgasm next (it’s the most popular color in their collection).

If I’m not using NARS Blush, I’m using Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush.

8. Clinique Perfectly Real Make Up, $26.50, sephora.com

sephora.com

I’ve been using this product for years and have yet to find a foundation that I like more than this one. It has a good amount of coverage, but doesn’t look thick or cakey once applied. It’s breathable, which is another bonus. I also like that it has great holding power all day.

9. NARS The Multiple (in Copacabana), $39.00, sephora.com

sephora.com

The Multiple comes in a wide array of colors and can be used as an illuminator, bronzer, blush, eyeshadow, or lip color depending on the shade that you purchase. I own the Copacabana shade, which is a pearlescent, sheer tone. I use it as a highlighter. I love the way it applies and it also provides just enough sparkle to get me through the day! There are three other highlighting products I rotate between regularly, all by Smashbox.

  • Photo Op Undereye Brightener, $20.00, sephora.com
  • Halo Highlighting Wand (discontinued). Alternate product: Liquid Halo HD Foundation Broad Spectrum SPF 15, $42.00, ulta.com
  • Soft Lights Shimmer (discountinued). Alternate product: Baked Fusion Softlights, $32.00, ulta.com

10. Too Faced Shadow Insurance Primer, $20.00, ulta.com

toofaced.com

This is my favorite eyeshadow primer! I’ve rotated between a few, including Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion, but this one is still my favorite. I have also been known to reach for NYX’s Eye Shadow Base.

11. NYX Honey Dew Me Up Skin Serum & Primer, $16.99, ulta.com

I love the way my skin feels after using this primer. I apply it before I put on my make-up and it provides lasting hold all day. It also feels extremely refreshing and cooling. Another of my favorite primers is Smashbox’s Photo Finish Foundation Primer.

12. Fake-Up Hydrating Concealer by Benefit, $24.00, ulta.com

sephora.com

This concealer is ultra hydrating and doesn’t crease–even underneath your eyes!

13. NYX Eyebrow Shaper, $8.99, ulta.com

ulta.com

My eyebrows are relatively thick as it is (plus I am awful at filling them in), so I choose to use NYX’s Eyebrow Shaper. It’s a wax pencil that simply grooms your eyebrows into place. It’s a great way to shape and mold your eyebrows without having to do anything dramatic to them. I would highly recommend this product. If you do fill in your eyebrows, this is a great product to swipe on top, simply to keep everything sealed in place.

14. Erase Paste Brightening Concealer by Benefit, $26.00, ulta.com

benefitcosmetics.com

This is a product I would have never bought on my own, but the saleslady at Ulta convinced me otherwise! Fortunately, I ended up loving this product. It has an orange-yellow tint, which is ideal for concealing under-eye purple and blue tones. I apply this first, then add the Fake-Up on top. The only words of caution I have with this product is that it does crease a bit when placed too close to your undereye. Apply thinly over your dark spots, then avoid the rest of your eye area.

15. NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil (in Cottage Cheese), $4.49, ulta.com

ulta.com

This is my go-to product for brightening my eyes! I apply it to the inner corner of each eye for some sparkle and the appearance of alertness. It’s a great way to look more awake if you didn’t get enough sleep last night!

Secondary Products

There are some days I want to glam up a bit more than usual. Or, there are some days where I just want to mix things up. Introducing, the secondary products I use on a regular basis.

20151019_150129-1_resized

16. EcoTools Bamboo Bronzer Brush, $11.00, ulta.com

drugstore.com

17. Maybelline Color Sensational The Buffs Lip Color (Nude Lust), $7.49, ulta.com

20151006_154008-1

I have already expressed my love for this lipstick in a previous post. If I want to add some lipstick into my life, without going for a super noticeable color, this is my go-to choice.

18. NYX Pearl Mania Loose Pearl Eye Shadow, $2.99, ulta.com

ulta.com

When I want to add a little more sparkle to my look, this is the loose powder I reach for. With just the right amount of glitter, I apply this NYX Pearl Mania Loose Pearl Eyeshadow with my finger, right at the center of my lids. With a little finger-blending, this look is the perfect way to transform your office make-up into happy hour make-up.

19. Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzer, $30.00, ulta.com

ulta.com

I’m going to start by saying that this bronzer is made with real cocoa powder. As a result, this smells like chocolate. Which makes it ultra luxurious and decadent to use (without all the added calories!). It took me many, many months to finally find a bronzer that worked for my fair skin without looking too orange or unnatural. I am in love with this particular product and would recommend it.

20. Too Faced High Brow, $22.00, ulta.com

20150618_143238

This product adds a little extra pizzazz and brightness to your eyes. You apply a thin line beneath (and sometimes above) your brows and blend well. It makes your eyebrows appear bolder and darker.

21. NAKED2 Basics by Urban Decay, $29.00, ulta.com

20151019_150318_resized

When I want to have a more natural look–or I’m having a lazy make-up day–the Urban Decay NAKED2 Basics palette is my favorite choice. The colors are all simple and matte. The small palette size also make this ideal for taking on vacation or keeping in your purse during a night out.

22. Naked Smoky Palette by Urban Decay, $54.00, ulta.com

20151019_150236-1_resized

I’m still learning the shades in this palette, but this is a great choice when you need a more glam make-up look. The double-sided brush is perfect for blending, which is the secret to the perfect smoky eye.

One last thing, not included in my pictures…

To keep all my make-up in place, I love using a spray primer to top it all off. My two favorite choices are Smashbox’s Photo Finish Primer Water ($32.00, ulta.com) and MAC’s Prep + Prime Fix+ ($22.00, maccosmetics.com).

20151019_150254_resized

Leave a Reply

