Drugstore Beauty Finds: The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly

I recently walked into CVS to pick up a prescription and walked out with a lot more than I had been planning on getting.

20150921_141656

Here’s what I walked away with:

  • Dove Hair Therapy Refresh + Care Dry Shampoo, $5.29, cvs.com
  • ELF Eye Refresh Eye Serum Roller, $3.00, target.com
  • L’Oreal Paris Magic Skin Beautifier BB Cream (Anti-Redness), $10.99, ulta.com
  • Maybelline Color Sensational The Buffs Lip Color (Nude Lust), $7.49, ulta.com

Dove Hair Therapy Refresh + Care Dry Shampoo, $5.29, cvs.com

cvs.com

I’m not going to spend a lot of time talking about this product, because I have purchased it before and it is one of my all-time favorite dry shampoos. My favorite part is that it absorbs fully into hair, not leaving a whitish or grayish tint. I also enjoy the scent. If you’re looking for a dry shampoo, this is the one I would recommend! Plus, the price point is fantastic!

ELF Eye Refresh Eye Serum Roller, $3.00, target.com

20151006_154408-1

Okay, this product confuses me.

According to the product description on Target.com:

“The cooling sensation of the Eye Refresh rollerball brightens and refreshes the eye area to help alleviate under eye puffiness and dark circles. Infused with key ingredients Pomegranate, Rosemary, Green Tea, Cucumber and Grape to hydrate and nourish the delicate skin around your eyes. Perfect for portable on-the-spot treatment to awaken the skin throughout the day for a little pick-me-up.” [x]

20151006_154422

It has a rollerball top, which makes it easy to apply under your eyes. It feels like…water. It really feels like nothing. It absorbs quickly, which was nice. But honestly, I didn’t understand what this product was doing? I didn’t feel like my eyes looked refreshed or brightened or less puffy. Perhaps regular use is the key to seeing results from this product.

L’Oreal Paris Magic Skin Beautifier BB Cream (Anti-Redness), $10.99, ulta.com

20151006_154547

This is the product I was most excited to try and the most disappointed by the results. The product comes out of the tube in a mint green shade then “transforms to a universal shade to reduce the look of redness.” Or, so the tube says.

20151006_154711-1

20151006_154630-1

That is the product straight from the tube. The tan smudge is what it looks like after you start blending it with your skin.

20151006_154745-1

Now, I don’t know if I’m just super pale and that’s why it didn’t work for me, but the product is not a universal shade. It did not blend well with my skin tone. It was so so orange and there have been several complaints online stating the same thing. Use caution with this product!

20151006_154822-1

There it is when it was first applied to my skin. I tried blending it in to see if that would help.

20151006_154856-1

20151006_154906-1

Nope. No matter how much I tried to blend, the orange-y tone would not disappear. It did not further match my skin at any point. I also tried it on my face and the results were atrocious. It looked so mismatched and awful. I would not recommend this product, sadly.

Maybelline Color Sensational The Buffs Lip Color (Nude Lust), $7.49, ulta.com

20151006_154008-1

This was my favorite product of the bunch! I absolutely love the shade of this lipstick!

20151006_155110

I’ve been trying to find a good nude lipstick for a long time and I finally succeeded! This color looks so natural and so chic–I’m in love with it! I’ve been wearing it pretty much every single day since I got it. It applies smoothly and does not dry out my lips throughout the day (a great bonus). It fades relatively quickly (especially with eating and drinking), but it never looks bad as it starts to fade, as the color is so subtle.

20151006_154144-1

Conclusion

The Dry Shampoo and the Maybelline Nude Lipstick were the two winners of the day! Pass on the ELF Eye Refresher and the L’Oreal BB Cream.

20151006_154343-1

One thought on “Drugstore Beauty Finds: The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly

Leave a Reply

